Achievement Unlocked #2: C-Novels

C-novels are my latest toys!!!! This post was supposed to be up since August, but yeah…. For those who have been following my Happy Sunday posts, you would notice I have been raving  A LOT about Chinese novels (C-novels). 

I didn’t take any notice of them until Hua Qian Gu by Fresh Guo Guo. I wanted to know about the drama adaptation of HQG, The Journey of Flower and somehow somehow I stumbled on Shushengbar and BAM!!!! A whole different and new world exploded right in my face. A lot of C-novel readers were raving on and on about the book and comparing it to the drama. Afterwards it came to my notice that Boss & Me, a Chinese drama starring Zhang Han, Zhao Yi Ling, Huang Ming and others was actually adapted from a book (Shan Shan Comes To Eat) written by Gu Man. I didn’t start the book immediately, I hesitated for a while. But curiosity got the better of me, and I started reading it on fanatical. Before I finished Shan Shan Comes To Eat, I already scheduled the next novel I was going to read.

The next book was Silent Separation, which was also written by Gu Man. It so happened that I had just finished watching the drama adaptation starring Wallace Chung and Tang Yan as the main leads, hence most of the scenes were still fresh in my head. I jumped into that also, and marathoned the book. It’s was shorter in comparison to SSCTE.

After SS and SSCTE there was no turning back, I was fully and totally consumed by C-novels. From then (late July) till now I’ve read 15 C-novels. Some of them were pretty short, hence easy and fast to read. The funniest thing is I’m yet to read the catalyst responsible for discovering C-novels. I would get to Hua Qian Gu very soon; although translations are still ongoing, that’s no problem. I will catch up first then read as the translations are published. 

Out of the 15 I’ve read thus far, I’ve given 3 a perfect score (5/5) –

  • Really, Really Miss You by Mo Bao Fei Bao
  • You Are Still Here by Xin Yi Wu
  • Husband, Be A Gentleman by Su Xing Yue

I highly highly highly recommend the three of them. RRMY is a mix of ancient Chinese songs, food and modern Chinese SNS (Social Networking Sites). My knowledge on ancient Chinese songs, some random historical reference, cuisines and C-SNS spiked. I also got to know a bit about voice actors and how it functions more or less. YASH depicts the romance between two teens and how they solved their personal issues. It took a very realistic perspective of romance; the main male character was no Mr. perfect, he was very far from it lol, the main female character had her issues also. HBAG is just PERFECT!!! I’m a fan of palace wars – power struggle between brothers and court officials, the conniving and trap-setting by anyone for anyone lol!! HBAG had a mix of palace war and romance. Both main characters compliments each other to the littlest detail. It was very very interesting to read. 

I might create a page for all the C-novels I’ve read along with my ratings and also include blogs where you can read C-novels. I still have to think about it though. 

I’m actually placing the C-novels I’m currently reading on hold. I need to finish reading some other books that have been collecting dust on my shelf.

Anyway I’m really glad and grateful to be introduced to see this world!!!!Signature

Leave a Reply

